RNR News and Notes

Pretenders Announce New Album, Share New Song: Listen

Pretenders have announced their first new album in three years -  Relentless.   The album isn't out until September 1 but this week they released lead single “Let the Sun Come In” - stream it below 



Hynde stated of the album’s title in a press release - 

“I enjoy seeing the various meanings and origins of a word .. And I liked the definition: ‘showing no abatement of intensity.’ So when it came to an album title, it seemed fitting. You know… to keep doing it. I think anyone in a band is constantly questioning if they should keep going. It starts as a youthful pursuit and eventually, it makes you wonder, why am I doing this? It’s the life of the artist. You never retire. You become relentless.”


On the album's closing track “I Think About You Daily” which includes a string section arranged and conducted by Radiohead and the Smile’s Jonny Greenwood - Hynde said - 


“I met Jonny a couple of times and we’re obviously big fans of him because he’s done some incredible music over the years.  I saw him at the Phantom Thread premiere where the film was running on screen with a live orchestra playing. And we spoke afterward and he expressed an interest in doing something one day. I was thrilled and very surprised. So when we had the idea of getting strings on ‘I Think About You Daily,’ he was first choice. Legend!”





01 Losing My Sense of Taste
02 A Love
03 Domestic Silence
04 The Copa
05 Promise of Love
06 Merry Widow
07 Let the Sun Come In
08 Look Away
09 Your House Is on Fire
10 Just Let It Go
11 Vainglorious
12 I Think About You Daily