RNR News and Notes

Hear 'Crawling Kingsnake' - the first track from The Black Keys 10th studio album Delta Kream

The Black Keys have announced they will release their 10th studio album Delta Kream on My 14. 




The album celebrates the band’s blues roots and is a celebration of their early inspiration. The music on the album hails from Mississippi juke joints and has long left an imprint on the band’s music.


For this album, Auerbach and Carney recorded the 11 songs at Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in Nashville and were joined by celebrated session musicians Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton, long-time members of the bands of, amongst others, R. L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough, who originated much of material that inspired Delta Kream.  The album derives its name from an iconic photograph by William Eggleston.


The record opens with its first single-  the duo’s version of “Crawling Kingsnake,” a song credited to Big Joe Williams and popularized by John Lee Hooker 




Patrick Carney said on the recording: 

“The session was planned only days in advance and nothing was rehearsed.  We recorded the entire album in about 10 hours, over two afternoons.” 


-Dan Auerbach adds 

“We made this record to honor the Mississippi hill country blues tradition that influenced us starting out.  These songs are still as important to us today as they were the first day Pat and I started playing together and picked up our instruments.  It was a very inspiring session with Pat and me, along with Kenny Brown and Eric

Deaton, in a circle, playing these songs.  It felt so natural.” 



1. Crawling Kingsnake 
2. Louise 
3. Poor Boy A Long Way From Home 
4. Stay All Night 
5. Going Down South
6. Coal Black Mattie
7. Do The Romp 
8. Sad Days, Lonely Nights 
9. Walk With Me 
10. Mellow Peaches
11. Come and Go With Me


Delta Kream is out May 14 via Nonesuch.