WRNR FM ... We're Rock N Roll

RNR News and Notes

Sharon Van Etten Enlists Courtney Barnett, Lucinda Williams, and More For 'epic Ten' Covers Album

Sharon Van Etten has announced a reissue of her 2010 LP epic ... with a twist - it will be released as a double album with the firs side being  original record and the second - an LP of artists covering the album's tracks.  Artists doing the covering include Fiona Apple, Lucinda Williams, Big Red Machine (Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner of The National), and Courtney Barnett.  



epic represents a crossroads for me as an artist,” Van Etten said in press materials. She continued:

Going from intern to artist at Ba Da Bing, from solo folk singer to playing with a band for the first time and beginning to play shows on tour where people showed up. I am in awe of the artists who wanted to participate in celebrating my anniversary and reissue, from young inspiring musicians, to artists who took me under their wing, who I met on tour, and to artists I’ve looked up to since I was a teenager. Each one of these artists continue to influence my writing and provide a sense of camaraderie during this new era of sharing music.

epic Ten is out digitally April 16 and physically June 11 via Ba Da Bing.  She will share one of the album’s cover songs Each Thursday leading up to epic Ten’s release.  


The first cover we've heard from the project is Big Red Machine's take on A Crime: 


A Crime (By Big Red Machine)


The full track list for epic Ten covers:


1. “A Crime”—Big Red Machine

2. “Peace Signs”—IDLES

3. “Save Yourself”—Lucinda Williams

4. “DsharpG”—Shamir

5. “Don’t Do It”—Courtney Barnett (ft. Vagabon)

6. “One Day”—St. Panther

7. “Love More”—Fiona Apple