WRNR FM ... We're Rock N Roll

RNR News and Notes

Death Cab for Cutie Releasing New EP Featuring Cover Songs of Georgia Artists

Death Cab For Cutie may hail from the Pacific Northwest - but they have picked a state on the other side of the country as the focus of their new EP.  



The band is releasing The Georgia E.P. this  Friday (December 4) exclusively through Bandcamp - and it will only be available for 24 hours.


The track listing is an eclectic mix of artists: 


01 Waterfalls (TLC cover)
02 The King of Carrot Flowers, Pt. 1 (Neutral Milk Hotel cover)
03 Fall on Me (R.E.M. cover)
04 Flirted With You All My Life (Vic Chesnutt cover)
05 Metal Heart (Cat Power cover)


*editors note - can.not.wait to hear the Fall On Me cover *


EP artwork by  Zack Bolotin’s EP


All proceeds will go to the voter’s rights organization Fair Fight Action.


Ben Gibbard said of the project: 


“We created this exclusive EP of songs by some of our favorite Georgia artists for our friend Stacey Abrams and all the hard-working people at Fair Fight Action.  We strongly believe in the work Fair Fight has done to assure free and fair elections in Georgia and beyond and have been honored to assist them throughout the 2020 campaign.”


It isn't Gibbards first covers project this year - earlier this year, he presented an all-covers installment of his Live From Home livestream series.




In the above clip - Gibbard performed songs by John Lennon, Rilo Kiley, Big Star, Elliott Smith, Phoebe Bridgers, Bob Dylan, The Shins, Def Leppard and more over the course of his 50-minute set.